Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Finalists for 2009 Story Prize

Finalists for the 2009 Story Prize were announced today. The award, in its sixth year, is an annual award for books of short fiction. The three finalists were were selected from among 78 story collections from 53 different publishers or imprints. Here are the 2009 finalists -- all of which are debut collections:
  • In Other Rooms, Other Wonders, by Daniyal Mueenuddin, presents eight connected stories set in southern Pakistan. This book was also a finalist for this year's National Book Award.
  • Drift, by Victoria Patterson. The thirteen stories in this collection are set in the wealthy enclave of Newport Beach, California.
  • Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned, by Wells Tower. The paperback edition of this collection of nine stories will be published in a couple of weeks.

Founder Julie Lindsey and Director Larry Dark selected the finalists for The Story Prize. Three independent judges will determine the winner. This year’s judges are writer A.M. Homes, journalist/blogger Carolyn Kellogg, and librarian Bill Kelly. The award ceremony will be held in New York City on March 3. All three finalists will read from their work and be interviewed on stage by Larry Dark. The author of the winning collection will receive a $20,000 prize. Previous winners of The Story Prize include Edwidge Danticat, Mary Gordon, and Tobias Wolff.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.