Tuesday, April 12, 2011

2011 Orange Prize for Fiction

The shortlist for the 2011 Orange Prize for Fiction was announced today. You can read about the full list of nominees in our previous blog posting. A little drum roll, please......Here are the shortlisted authors:

  • Room, Emma Donoghue (Irish)
  • The Memory of Love, Aminatta Forna (British/Sierra Leonean)
  • Grace Williams Says It Loud, Emma Henderson (British)
  • Great House, Nicole Krauss (American)
  • The Tiger's Wife, Tea Obreht (Serbian/American)
  • Annabel, Kathleen Winter (Canadian)

The Orange Prize for Fiction, in its sixteenth year, celebrates excellence, originality, and accessibility in women's writing from throughout the world. This year, three of the finalists (Henderson, Obreht, and Winter) are debut novelists! The winner will be feted in an award ceremony on June 8th and will receive, in addition to a cash prize, a limited edition bronze statue known as "The Bessie." Who do you think the winner will be??

1 comment:

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.