Thursday, July 9, 2009

Win Tickets to 2009 National Book Awards

I just learned about this cool thing that the National Book Foundation is doing. I've reprinted here the description of the project from their Website:

"To celebrate the 60th year of the National Book Awards, the National Book Foundation will present a book-a-day blog on the Fiction winners from 1950 to 2008.

"The blog will run from July 7th to September 21st, starting with Nelson Algren’s The Man With the Golden Arm, ending with Peter Matthiessen’s Shadow Country, and including works by Ralph Ellison, Saul Bellow, Philip Roth, Flannery O’Connor, Eudora Welty, and Alice McDermott. Discover lesser known but equally talented National Book Award Fiction Winners such as Conrad Richter, Wright Morris, and Robb Forman Dew. Then return here, on September 21st, you will have a chance to select The Best of the National Book Awards Fiction and win two tickets to the 2009 National Book Awards, the first time in its history the Awards will open to a public vote."

When you click on an active book cover, you go to a page with information about the book and about the literary world that year. Very interesting. Visit every day for the next 77 days, and if you want to read any of them, give us a call and we'll see if we can order you a copy (if we don't already have it). Check it out here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.