Monday, July 13, 2009

Winners of 2009 Thriller Awards

The Association of International Thriller Writers announced the winners of the 2009 Thriller Awards at a ceremony in New York City Saturday night.

Best Thriller of the Year went to Jeffery Deaver's book The Bodies Left Behind. Deaver's book is an epic cat-and-mouse chase filled with Deaver's patented twists and turns, where nothing is what it seems, and death lingers just around the next curve on a deserted path deep in the midnight forests of Wisconsin. The Bodies Left Behind, available now in hardcover, will be published in August in paperback.

Tom Rob Smith won the Best First Novel Award for his debut novel Child 44, set in 1950s Stalinist Russia, where the only crimes acknowledged to exist are crimes against the state. In this setting of fear, paranoia, and brutality, war hero and MGB officer Leo Demidov hunts for a serial child killer. Child 44 is available in paperback now. Smith's second Demidov novel, The Secret Speech, was published in hardcover in May.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.