Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Mink River Wins Editor's Choice Prize

At a ceremony during the recent American Library Association Conference in New Orleans, the 215 Book of the Year Award winners in 60 categories were honored. These books, representing the best independently published books from 2010 were selected by a panel of librarian and bookseller judges. The award is sponsored by ForeWord Reviews.

Two books were also named Editor’s Choice Prize winners: The fiction prize went to Oregon State University Press for Mink River, written by Portland's very own Brian Doyle. The nonfiction prize went to Welcome Books for The Last Good War, with photographs by Thomas Sanders and written by Veronica Kavass.  

 "Mink River is one of the most generous books I've ever read. From the schoolteacher to the sculptor, the cop to the child beater, the humanity of its characters soils every inch of ground and perfumes each molecule of air in a remote place we're lucky to pause in for a while. Brian Doyle breathes new life into the novel of small-town America,” said ForeWord Book Review Editor Julie Eakin.

McPherson & Company was named ForeWord's Independent Publisher of the Year. McPherson & Company published this year's National Book Award winner for fiction, Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon

 ForeWord Reviews' Book of the Year Awards were established to bring increased attention to librarians and booksellers of the literary and graphic achievements of independent publishers and their authors. ForeWord Reviews, established in 1998, is the only review trade journal devoted exclusively to books published by independent houses.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.