Monday, April 27, 2009

Picture Book Hall of Fame

After more than four weeks of voting by booksellers at independent bookstores across the country, the American Booksellers Association recently announced the first three inductees to the Indies Choice Book Awards Picture Book Hall of Fame. Here are the 2009 inductees:

  • Where the Wild Things Are, by Maurice Sendak
  • Make Way for Ducklings, by Robert McCloskey
  • Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus, by Mo Willems

The ten other finalists who were not selected for induction this year will appear on the Hall of Fame ballots for 2010, along with additional titles selected by next year's jury. Here are those ten finalists:

  • Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, by Judith Viorst and Ray Cruz
  • Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, by Bill Martin, Jr. and John Archambault and Lois Ehlert
  • Corduroy, by Don Freeman
  • Curious George, by H.A. Rey
  • Goodnight Gorilla, by Peggy Rathmann
  • The Little Engine That Could, by Watty Piper
  • Madeline, by Ludwig Bemelmans
  • Napping House, by Audrey Wood
  • Stellaluna, by Janelle Cannon
  • The Story of Ferdinand the Bull, by Munro Leaf and Robert Lawson

As the daughter of a former elementary school librarian, I've always had a serious fondness for picture books, and I'm a fan of most of the books on these two lists. Some of my other favorite picture books include Officer Buckle and Gloria (Peggy Rathmann), all of the Olivia books (Ian Falconer), and the books by Jon Muth. And I could go on and on; it's so hard to narrow my list of favorites in this category.

Congratulations to this year's inductees!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.