Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Local Author Wins Locus Award

Winners of the 2009 Locus Awards, sponsored by Locus Magazine, were announced at a ceremony and banquet Saturday night in Seattle during the Science Fiction Awards Weekend. One of the winners was Oregon's own Ursula K. Le Guin, whose novel Lavinia was named Best Fantasy Novel. Neal Stephenson's Anathem was named Best Science Fiction Novel, Neil Gaiman won Best Young-Adult Novel for The Graveyard Book, and Kelly Link won the Best Novella award for Pretty Monsters.

Locus Magazine has been covering the science fiction and fantasy field since 1968. The monthly publication provides news of the science fiction/fantasy field and extensive reviews and listings of books and magazines. The magazine is published from Oakland, California. The publisher and editor-in-chief is Charles N. Brown. You can read more about the awards at the magazine's Web site.

In related sci-fi news, Cory Doctorow's Little Brother and Ian R. MacLeod's Song of Time tied to win the 2008 John W. Campbell Memorial Award. This is only the third tie in the award's history. The awards will be presented at a banquet July 10, 2009, held during the Campbell Conference in Lawrence KS, from July 9-12.

The John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the best science-fiction novel of the year is one of the three major annual awards for science fiction. The first Campbell Award was presented at the Illinois Institute of Technology in 1973. The Award was created to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine, now named Analog. Campbell, who edited the magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971, is called by many writers and scholars the father of modern science fiction. Writers and critics Harry Harrison and Brian W. Aldiss established the award in Campbell's name as a way of continuing his efforts to encourage writers to produce their best possible work.

The Campbell Award differs from the other two major awards in the field by being restricted to the novel and by its method of selection. The Hugo Awards are voted on by some thousand of the several thousand members who pay advance fees to attend the World Science Fiction Convention, which meets annually at different locations on Labor Day weekend. The Nebula Awards are voted on by some hundred of the nearly three thousand members of the Science Fiction Writers of America and presented at the annual Nebula Award meeting usually held late in the Spring. The Campbell Award is the only award of the three selected by a committee small enough to discuss among its members all of the nominated novels. You can read more about The Campbell Award here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.