Monday, January 12, 2009

Love a Good Short Story?

The 2008 Story Prize finalists have just been announced. The Story Prize, in its fifth year, is an annual award for books of short fiction. This year's finalists are Unaccustomed Earth, by Jhumpa Lahiri (Knopf), Demons in the Spring, by Joe Meno (Akashic Books), and Our Story Begins, by Tobias Wolff (Knopf). The winner will be announced at a ceremony in New York City on March 4th. I'm surprised that Nam Le's The Boat, didn't make the list, but I have no quarrel with the ones selected (although I must admit I'm not familiar with Demons in the Spring -- must go check it out). I'm a big fan of good short stories. Are you? Some of my favorite writers are Alice Munro (everything) and Lorrie Moore (sadly no new collection for about ten years or so), and, recently, James Salters' Last Night. Wow. Past winners of The Story Prize include Mary Gordon, Tessa Hadley, Vincent Lam, and Jim Harrison.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.