Monday, January 26, 2009

Newbery & Caldecott Award Winners Announced

Neil Gaiman has won the 2009 Newbery Medal for The Graveyard Book (Harper Collins) and Beth Krommes has won the 2009 Randolph Caldecott Medal for The House in the Night (Houghton Mifflin), written by Susan Marie Swanson. The awards were announced this morning at the American Library Association's midwinter conference in Denver.

Four books were named Newbery Honor Books: The Underneath (Simon & Schuster/Atheneum) by Kathi Appelt; The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba's Struggle for Freedom (Holt) by Margarita Engle; Savvy (Dial) by Ingrid Law; and After Tupac & D Foster (Putnam) by Jacqueline Woodson.

There were three Caldecott Honor Books: A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever (Harcourt) by Marla Frazee; How I Learned Geography (FSG) by Uri Shulevitz; and A River of Words: The Story of William Carlos Williams (Eerdmans) illustrated by Melissa Sweet and written by Jen Bryant.

The Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production went to The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian (Recorded Books), written and narrated by Sherman Alexie.

The John Newbery Medal is a literary award given by the American Library Association to the author of the Outstanding American Children's Book. The award is named for John Newbery, an 18th century publisher of juvenile books, and has been given since 1922. The Caldecott Medal, awarded annually by the ALA to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published that year, was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. The Caldecott award was established in 1937.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.